CALL US +44 1502 449001

ITIL/ISO 20000 Knowledge base

'. get_the_author_meta('first_name'). ' '.get_the_author_meta('last_name').'

ITIL Processes and Functions – the breakdown

Author: Neven Zitek

The ITIL best practices framework is based around five Service Lifecycle modules: Service Strategy, Service Design, Service Transition, Service Operation, and Continual Service Improvement, with each of them containing a number of ITIL Processes and Functions within it. In this article we’ll explore processes and functions for each module.

The key to running efficient IT Service Management is knowing who does what; therefore, within the ITIL framework you’ll find numerous roles involved in the process(es) itself. In this article, you’ll find a list of all ITIL processes and roles that are involved in process execution.

Some roles span across several processes, and have different influence on the process itself. Those complex relationships are maintained within the RACI (Responsible, Accountable, Support, Consulted, Informed) matrix, which spans across all Service Lifecycle processes and roles.

Service Strategy

The ITIL Service Strategy module helps to clarify relationships between various services or processes, with business models or objectives that they support. In a nutshell, Service Strategy looks at what a business needs and what it doesn’t, develops a strategy that will satisfy the business needs, focuses on using services in order to create business value, and chooses the appropriate strategy for service delivery. Read this blog post for more information: Strategy Management for IT Services – holding your steering wheel.

Processes and roles

Strategy Management for IT Services Service Strategy Manager
IT Steering Group (ISG)
Service Portfolio Management Service Portfolio Manager
IT Steering Group (ISG)
Financial Management for IT Services Financial Manager
Demand Management Demand Manager
Business Relationship Management Business Relationship Manager

Service Design

The purpose of ITIL Service Design is to design appropriate and innovative IT services, including their architecture, processes, policies, and documentation, in order to meet current and future agreed business requirements. The Service Design part of the Service Lifecycle starts with business requirements, and ends with the service solution which meets those requirements, and it’s then passed to Service Transition to be evaluated, built and tested, before deployed as a new or changed service.

Processes and roles

Design Coordination Service Design Manager
Service Catalogue Management Service Catalogue Manager
Service Level Management Service Level Manager
Service Owner
Risk Management Risk Manager
Capacity Management Capacity Manager
Availability Management Availability Manager
IT Service Continuity Management IT Service Continuity Manager
Information Security Management Information Security Manager
Compliance Management Compliance Manager
Architecture Management Enterprise Architect
Supplier Management Supplier Manager

Service Operation

The ITIL Service Operation, part of Service Lifecycle, is responsible for the execution and running of day-to-day operations required to deliver services according to agreed terms and SLAs. It’s important for Service Operation to keep the costs reduced and under control, while improving the quality of services delivered. You can find an example in: ITIL V3 Change Management – at the heart of Service Management.

Processes and roles

Event Management IT Operations Manager
IT Operator
Incident Management Incident Manager
1st level Support
2nd level Support
Major Incident Team
Request Fulfillment Incident Manager
Access Management Access Manager
Problem Management Problem Manager
IT Operations Control IT Operations Manager
Facilities Management Facilities Manager
Technical Management Technical Analyst

Continual Service Improvement

Continual Service Improvement’s (CSI) area of focus is on increasing efficiency and cost optimization of services and IT Service Management processes. CSI is responsible for the continuous alignment and realignment of IT services and business processes, driven by ever-changing business needs. And yes, CSI is responsible for taking advantage of improvement opportunities within CSI itself.

Processes and roles

Service Review CSI Manager
Process Evaluation Process Architect
Process Owner
Definition of CSI Initiatives CSI Manager
Monitoring of CSI Initiatives CSI Manager

Additional Information

As presented in this article, a breakdown of ITIL lifecycle stages reveals a great number of processes and roles within them. This breakdown should give you a clear picture about ITIL service lifecycle stages, and processes and roles within each stage, but this is a textbook example. In real life, some processes span across multiple lifecycle stages, and some throughout the lifecycle as a whole, making this breakdown fuzzier and bit more complex.

You can find more on this topic by reading this article:  ITIL Service Lifecycle – processes and functions overlapping the phases.

If you enjoyed this article, subscribe for updates

Improve your knowledge with our free resources on ISO 20000 and ITIL standards.

You may unsubscribe at any time.

For more information on what personal data we collect, why we need it, what we do with it, how long we keep it, and what are your rights, see this Privacy Notice.

Branimir Valentic
Lead ITIL/ISO 20000 Expert, Advisera


Upcoming free webinar
How to sell ISO consulting services
Wednesday - November 6, 2019



  • Advisera is Exemplar Global Certified TPECS Provider for the IS, QM, EM, TL and AU Competency Units.
  • ITIL® is a registered trade mark of AXELOS Limited. Used under licence of AXELOS Limited. All rights reserved.
  • DNV GL Business Assurance is one of the leading providers of accredited management systems certification.