• (0)
    ISO-14001-blog

    ISO 14001 知识库

    ISO 14001 组织环境的确定

    ISO 14001 的 2015 版将于本月定稿,关键改变之一为一个关于识别“组织环境”的条款。略加思考,尤其是如果我们想到组织环境的范围定义会如何地影响环境管理体系的参数和绩效(参见 Environmental performance evaluation)以及广大环境,即可发现,这一增添实为切实合理。然而,到底什么是“组织环境”?如何来肯定组织正确地确定了组织环境?

    何谓组织环境?

    依据 14001:2004 标准观察企业环境管理体系最简单的方法,是想一想需要考虑哪些方面、哪些措施,以减轻组织对环境的影响。这种做法极为一维化,新条款正是要改进这一点。所谓考虑组织环境,必须考虑所有的直接和间接后果、法律要求以及环境管理体系的绩效给利益相关者造成的所有影响。换言之,想成功改版到 ISO 14001:2015,就应该“居高临下”地观察一下组织的环境绩效,确定谁受其影响,从而再确定用什么来减轻风险,改进绩效。下面将逐步加以分析。

    解读组织环境

    2004 版标准中有“相关方”的提法,其定义为“关注组织的环境绩效或受其环境绩效影响的个人或团体”。2015 版标准最终草案将其与组织环境区分开来。组织环境一般可被分类为:

    • 内部环境:可影响环境绩效的任何措施、产品或服务
    • 外部环境:可包括法律、经济、社会或政治事项
    • 其他环境:可为组织环境绩效影响而受到破坏的任何其他环境因素

    如此,相关方的期望可包括法律及强制性要求(又见 Demystification of legal requirements in ISO 14001),也可包括投资者期望、客户期望、合同期望、来自当地社区的任何其他方面期望等等。为了确保企业能认可这些期望,并且按照设定的目标测量这些期望,将组织予以采纳的期望记录下来,始终是不会错的。

    对本组织的组织环境有良好意识,可确保我们实现环境目标和期望,同时也为确保满足所有外部各方,为未来做好准备打下基础。确定组织环境的重要性由此可以想象。组织环境仍然可以有区域性的不同,也仍然与组织所在行业有关。下面举个例子,以便大家理解。

    组织环境实例:小麦消耗

    笔者曾经同某跨国制造商合作,该企业制造食品和点心,产品供应千家万户。企业面临的一个重要问题是获得大量小麦满足批量生产,同时保证产品和口感的一致性。我们来看一下组织所要考虑及做好的组织环境事项:

    • 小麦缺货可限制企业运转,意味着产量和产品的一致性可能受到负面影响(环境状况引起的负面影响)。
    • 以小麦为生产原料可破坏当地居民非常关切的环境,或在一个以小麦为生命线的地区阻断当地的供应链(负面环境影响)。
    • 关于这个问题的负面宣传及任何潜在的宣传或活动可引起企业股价下跌以及市场及投资者的关注(影响相关方、股东及利益相关者)。
    • 企业有可能向希望得到一笔收入的另一个来源或国家购买小麦。(利用企业本身战略方针,从战略高度看待企业的环境绩效及其对其他方面的影响,转负面为正面,获得正面宣传,升高股价。)
    • 技术:组织可考虑从技术方面着手,开辟途径,寻找天然小麦的增补物,确保减少原料使用。(具备对内部组织环境的意识,可以对所有其他相关方产生正面影响。)
    • 环境及气候变化可危及小麦产量,所以,组织必须采取行动,找出小麦的替代物。(外部环境的改变造成环境改变的需要。)

    为什么ISO 14001:2015 标准(可进一步阅读博文 The final draft of ISO 14001:2015 is released)要求我们考虑组织环境?相信现在大家已有更好理解。那么,我们会得到什么成果?

    组织环境的成果

    组织环境条款内容的出现,很明显是要确保每个实体在制定自身环境管理体系的范围和目标时,考虑所有外部、内部和相关因素。时至今日,在环境问题上光说不练,理所当然会遭受抨击,而审核员现在也要求证据,以证明该组织的环境已被完全确定,并且在其过程中还有最高管理者团队的输入。做到了这一点,也只有做到了这一点,才能确定环境因素和策略,保证随之产生的环境目标的实现和保持。照此办理,过程结果会相当完整,无论是外部、内部或环境本身,所有一切,统统得益。

    点击此处,访问 ISO 14001 Foundations online course,深入理解标准新版。

    Advisera John Nolan
    作者作者
    John Nolan
    John Nolan is a Fellow of the Institute of Leaders and Managers in the United Kingdom, and Prince 2 accredited with a background in Engineering and Electronics and Data Storage and Transfer. Having studied and qualified as both a Mechanical and Electronic Engineer, he has spent the last 15 years designing and delivering Quality Systems and projects across many sectors in the UK, including both national and local government.

ISO 14001 Knowledge base

'. get_the_author_meta('first_name'). ' '.get_the_author_meta('last_name').'

Determining the context of the organization in ISO 14001

Author: John Nolan

The 2015 revision of the ISO 14001 standard will be finalized this month, and one of the key changes will be a clause concerning the identification of the “context of the organization.” When you think about it, this is a totally rational and sensible addition, especially when you consider how scoping out the context of your organization can affect the parameters and performance of your Environmental Management System (EMS) (see also: Environmental performance evaluation) and the wider environment. But what does “context of the organization” really mean, and how do you ensure you do this correctly on behalf of your organization?

Context of the organization: What does it mean?

A simplistic way to view your EMS under the 14001:2004 standard was to think about what aspects and actions could be considered to lessen your organization’s impact on the environment. That approach is extremely one dimensional, which is what the new clause seeks to improve. By considering the context of your organization, you must think of all the direct and indirect consequences, the legal requirements, and all effects on your stakeholders that your EMS performance will have. In other words, to prepare for ISO 14001:2015 compliance you will need to take a “helicopter view” of your organization’s environmental performance, and scope out exactly who that affects, and consequently, what can be identified to mitigate and improve that. So, how exactly does that break down?

Context of the organization: Specifics

The 2004 version of the standard mentions “interested parties” and defines them as “persons or groups concerned with or affected by an organization’s environmental performance.” The final draft of the 2015 standard differentiates between these and the context of the organization. The general context of the organization can be classified as:

  • Internal context: any actions or products and services that may affect your environmental performance
  • External context: may include legal, economic, social, or political issues
  • Environmental context: all other environmental aspects that may be susceptible to damage by your organization’s environmental performance

The expectations of interested parties can then include legal and mandatory requirements (see also Demystification of legal requirements in ISO 14001) and also investor expectations, customer and contractual expectations, any other expectations held by the local community, and so on. It is always good practice to document those adopted by your organization, in order to ensure you can recognize and measure against the objectives you have set.

Therefore, we can imagine the importance of having a good awareness of the context of our own organization to ensure that we not only meet environmental objectives and expectations, but also have a foundation to ensure we are aware of satisfying all external parties and preparing for the future. As ever, this may change from region to region and depending on the sector your organization works in. So, can we use examples to make this easier to understand?

Context example: Consumption of wheat

I once worked with a multi-national manufacturer that processed food and snack products that are consumed in most households. One of the major problems was obtaining huge quantities of wheat for mass production, ensuring consistency of product and taste. Let’s look at the contextual issue to consider and conquer:

  • The lack of wheat is an operational constraint and means that output and consistency may be negatively affected (negative impact due to environmental condition).
  • Using wheat may damage an environment that local inhabitants care about deeply or stop a local supply chain in a region where this commodity is vital (negative environmental impact).
  • Negative publicity regarding the issue and any potential publicity or campaigning may lead to a drop in share price and concern amongst markets and investors (affecting interested parties, shareholders, and stakeholders).
  • It may be possible for the company to buy from another source or country that may welcome the revenue stream (using the company’s own strategic policy to turn a negative to a positive, garner good publicity, and increase the share price by having a strategic view of the company’s environmental performance and its effect on others).
  • Technology: it may be that the organization can use technology to find a method of supplementing the natural product to ensure that less is used (awareness of internal context could affect all other parties in a positive manner if achieved).
  • Environmental and climate change may mean that the commodity becomes threatened, and therefore, the organization must take action to find a substitute (a change in external environment driving the need for environmental change).

So, we now have a better idea of why the ISO 14001:2015 standard, which you can read more about in this blog: The final draft of ISO 14001:2015 is released, needs us to consider the context of the organization. So, what outcome does that give us?

Context of the organization: The outcome

The clause specific to the context of the organization is clearly constructed to ensure that each individual entity considers all external, internal, and associated factors when framing the scope and objectives for its own EMS. In this day and age, paying lip service to environmental issues is rightly frowned upon, and an auditor will now need evidence that the context of the organization has been completely defined with input from the top management team. Then, and only then, can environmental aspects and strategies be defined that will ensure the delivery and maintenance of the resulting objectives – which will be considerably more rounded as a result of this process, to the benefit of all, whether external, internal, or the environment itself.

Click here and visit our  ISO 14001 Foundations online course to learn more about new version of the standard.

If you enjoyed this article, subscribe for updates

Improve your knowledge with our free resources on ISO 14001 standard.

FREE ISO 14001 CONSULTATION
Iciar Gallo
ISO 14001 Expert, Advisera

GET FREE ADVICE

Upcoming free webinar
How to sell ISO consulting services
Wednesday – November 7, 2018

OUR CLIENTS

OUR PARTNERS

  • Advisera is Exemplar Global Certified TPECS Provider for the IS, QM, EM and AU Competency Units.
  • ITIL® is a registered trade mark of AXELOS Limited. Used under licence of AXELOS Limited. All rights reserved.
  • DNV GL Business Assurance is one of the leading providers of accredited management systems certification.