ISO 14001 知识库

ISO 14001 管理者代表的重任

作者: Mark Hammar

什么是 ISO 14001 环境管理体系的管理者代表?什么是他们的职责?为什么要有管理者代表?在实施环境管理体系的过程中,我们经常会听到这样的问题,其主要原因,是 ISO 14001 标准对这个角色没有多加解释。仅有的一些有关资源、角色、职责及权限的要求,可见于条款 4.4.1,对此笔者已于博文 Understanding Responsibility & Authority Identification in ISO 14001. 中加以探讨。本文将就环境管理者代表的角色,作简短但深入的解析。

ISO 14001 为什么有管理者代表的要求?

首先,为什么有环境管理代表的要求?这是 ISO 管理体系标准的共同元素,基本上就是,管理体系拥有一位指定的管理者,负有全面的职责和权限,确保管理体系的运行。管理者代表并不需要一手包办,但正如那句老话:“责任止于此。”

管理者代表的作用在 ISO 14001 要求中分为两部分。首先是确保环境管理体系到位并持续运行,其次是确保最高管理者知道环境管理体系的活动,帮助他们在必要时重设优先次序、调整资源并修改计划。

确保环境管理体系的建立、实施及保持

如上所述,环境管理代表并不需要一切亲力亲为,来建立环境管理体系并证实它持续运行,但管理代表确需保证员工得到必要的任务并执行得当。管理者代表如何确保这一点?这里介绍一些执行的方法:

建立:要识别出与环境有相互作用(称环境因素)的所有过程,并找出环境因素的监视方法。作为管理者代表,要审查企业内全部过程环境因素的识别及分类工作,确保落实。关于这方面,可进一步阅读 Environmental aspect identification and classification。接下来,要检查环境管理体系内 ISO 14001 所要求的过程是否全部到位。如果做到1)全部过程经过审查以确定环境因素、2)全部 ISO 14001 过程到位、3)广大员工理解环境管理体系对他们的影响,环境管理体系就算建立了。

实施:保证环境管理体系实施的主要元素是第一次内部审核。经过内部审核对所有环境管理体系过程的检查,您就会知道,是否您的实施工作在组织各层次都得到了理解及执行。对内部审核的结果包括对任何纠正措施的反应,应加以审查,它们能很好地体现出实施工作的效果。参阅:Internal Audits in the EMS: Five Main Steps

保持:对管理体系的保持作出验证非常重要。如果不予跟进,不确保环境管理体系始终有价值,之前的一切费心费力,去识别环境因素、过程及实施环境管理体系所需的资源,都将只是徒劳无功。这一步的主要元素是管理评审。在管理评审中,您可以审查环境管理体系产生的数据,确保其如预期的那样,一直有效,一直改进。

报告环境管理体系的绩效

光是环境管理代表知道环境管理体系的运行情况是不够的;同样重要的,是最高管理层知道环境管理体系的预期目标以及它是否达到目标,实施改进。最高管理者了解情况的主要途径,是 ISO 14001 规定的管理评审过程。

管理评审包括评审体系产生的数据,它们有:

  1. 内审及合规审核的结果
  2. 来自外部相关方的沟通信息
  3. 纠正及预防措施的状态
  4. 环境目标及环境指标的状态
  5. 关于改进的建议

管理评审审查环境管理体系的输出,通过它,最高管理者可以知道管理体系的运行状况,然后可以决定下一步的动作,使资源运用得当。

参阅 How can your EMS Management Review be more useful?,以进一步了解管理评审。

为什么管理者代表举足轻重?

大多数公司的最高管理层无法掌控公司内部的每一个细节,哪怕这些细节十分重要。这就是为什么他们需要一个代表,以确保这些细节得到监视并在必要时得到纠正。环境管理代表担当起这个角色,可以确保环境管理体系在整个组织内得到妥善的监视、纠正及保持。最高管理者批下了建立和实施管理体系所需要的资源,找个人来确保其保持,才有意义。

If you enjoyed this article, subscribe for updates

Improve your knowledge with our free resources on ISO 14001 standard.

You may unsubscribe at any time.

For more information on what personal data we collect, why we need it, what we do with it, how long we keep it, and what are your rights, see this Privacy Notice.

发表评论

电子邮件地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注

ISO 14001 免费咨询
Iciar Gallo
Advisera——ISO 14001专家

获取免费建议

Upcoming free webinar
How to use a Documentation Toolkit for the implementation of ISO 14001
Thursday – December 19, 2019

合作客户

我们的合作伙伴

  • Advisera is Exemplar Global Certified TPECS Provider for the IS, QM, EM, TL and AU Competency Units.
  • ITIL®是AXELOS有限公司的注册商标。经AXELOS有限公司许可使用。 版权所有。
  • DNV GL业务保障是其中一家领先的、经认可的管理体系认证机构。

ISO 14001 Knowledge base

'. get_the_author_meta('first_name'). ' '.get_the_author_meta('last_name').'

ISO 14001: What is the Role of the Management Representative?

Author: Mark Hammar

What is the role of the management representative in the ISO 14001 environmental management system? What do they do? Why are they there? These questions are very often asked when implementing an environmental management system (EMS), mainly because the ISO 14001 standard does not include a lot of information on the role. The few requirements are included in section 4.4.1 on resources, roles, responsibility and authority, which I have talked about in a previous blog on Understanding Responsibility & Authority Identification in ISO 14001. This blog talked briefly about the role of the environmental management representative (often called the management rep), but here I wanted to expand on the explanation of what the role entails.

What is the reason ISO 14001 requires a management representative?

The first thing to look at is why an environmental management representative is required to begin with. This is a common element of the ISO management system standard, and basically entails that the management system has a specified manager who holds the overall responsibility and authority to make sure that the management system works. The management rep doesn’t need to do everything, but as the saying goes, “the buck stops here.”

The role of the management rep is defined in two parts in the ISO 14001 requirements. The first is to make sure that the environmental management system is in place and continues to work, and the second requirement is to ensure that top management knows what is happening with the management system so that they can reset priorities, adjust resources, and amend plans as necessary.

Ensure the EMS is established, implemented, and maintained

As stated above, the environmental management rep does not need to perform all the actions to set the management system in place and verify that it continues to function, but the management rep does need to make sure that people are assigned to the necessary tasks, and are performing the tasks appropriately. How does the management representative make sure this happens? Here are some ways that this can be done:

Established. All processes that have interactions with the environment (called environmental aspects) need to be identified, and a way to monitor the aspects needs to be in place. As the management rep, you can review the identification and classification of environmental aspects for all processes in the company to make sure they have been performed. For more information on this process, see Environmental aspect identification and classification. The second item to check is if all processes required by ISO 14001 are in place in your environmental management system. If all processes have been reviewed for environmental aspects, all ISO 14001 processes are in place, and the employees know how this affects them, then the environmental management system is established.

Implemented. The main element to ensure the management system is implemented is the first set of internal audits. When internal audits have checked all the processes that were established for the environmental management system, you will know if your implementation is known and done throughout the organization. Review of the internal audit results, including the response to any corrective actions, will give a good indication of how well your implementation is working. See also: Internal Audits in the EMS: Five Main Steps.

Maintained. Verifying maintenance of the management system is very important. Going through all the trouble of identifying the aspects, processes, and resources required to implement the system will be a waste of effort if you do not follow through with making sure the system stays relevant. The main element of doing this is the management review. In the management review you will look at the data from the system to make sure it is maintaining its effectiveness and improvements as expected.

Report how the EMS is performing

It is not enough for the environmental management rep to know how things are going; it is also important that the members of top management know what is expected of the environmental management system and how well it is meeting the targets for improvement. The main way of doing this is through the management review process identified in ISO 14001.

The management review includes review of data from the system, which includes:

  1. Results of internal audits and compliance audits
  2. Communication from outside parties
  3. Status of corrective and preventive actions
  4. Status of objectives and targets
  5. Improvement recommendations

From this review, which looks at the outputs of the environmental management system, top management can know how well or poorly the management system is performing, and can then decide what needs to be done so that resources are properly applied.

For more information on management review, see How can your EMS Management Review be more useful?

Why the management representative is crucial

For most companies, the members of top management cannot keep on top of every minute detail within the company, no matter how important those details may be. This is why they need a representative to ensure that these details are monitored and corrected where needed. With the environmental management rep taking this role, it can be assured that the environmental management system will be properly monitored, corrected, and maintained throughout the organization. When top management has expended the resources required to establish and implement a management system, having someone ensure it is maintained only makes sense.

If you enjoyed this article, subscribe for updates

Improve your knowledge with our free resources on ISO 14001 standard.

You may unsubscribe at any time.

For more information on what personal data we collect, why we need it, what we do with it, how long we keep it, and what are your rights, see this Privacy Notice.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

FREE ISO 14001 CONSULTATION
Iciar Gallo
ISO 14001 Expert, Advisera

GET FREE ADVICE

Upcoming free webinar
How to perform an ISO 14001:2015 internal audit
Wednesday – November 28, 2019

OUR CLIENTS

OUR PARTNERS

  • Advisera is Exemplar Global Certified TPECS Provider for the IS, QM, EM, TL and AU Competency Units.
  • ITIL® is a registered trade mark of AXELOS Limited. Used under licence of AXELOS Limited. All rights reserved.
  • DNV GL Business Assurance is one of the leading providers of accredited management systems certification.