• (0)
    ISO-14001-blog

    ISO 14001 知识库

    论 ISO 14001:2015 管理评审的重要性

    ISO 14001:2015 环境国际标准草案即将于 2015 年通过,14001Academy 博文 ISO 14001:2015 国际标准草案五要点 讨论了草案的变化,供大家参考。关键变化之一与领导作用承诺有关,并规定了组织的环境方针以及组织内角色、职责和权限的分派。总之,在整个 环境目标和环境指标 的确定过程中,应始终突出“最高管理者”的角色及其对于环境管理体系的承诺。然而,最先考虑及最重要的方式之一,是以管理评审的实际过程来证明领导作用并正式记录在案,令所有利益相关者对团队改善环境的承诺感到放心。那么,如何进行管理评审?为什么管理评审重要得成为 ISO 14001:2015 新版的一部分?

    管理评审空前重要

    ISO 14001:2004 条款 4.6 规定了组织管理评审的要求,以及证明组织持续改进承诺所需的输入和输出准则。正如大家所料,在这个初始的 管理评审过程 里,确定环境指标和环境目标也是一个基本部分,而且,组织的最高管理者团队应在此过程中起重要作用。然而,2015 版标准进一步强调了领导作用,其期望是,最高管理者应了解环境管理体系的测量及改进,了解其有效性,而且还能就此发表意见。因此,今后将更加注重环境指标及环境目标的准确性、意义及可持续性。可以预见,ISO 14001:2015 审核员也将更加期望见到可以证实,可以测量的领导作用。

    管理评审的变化

    组织的最高管理层在着手准备企业的环境指标、环境目标和权限时,现在必须格外认真。从设定目标、沟通、贯彻执行到绩效评审,最后确保持续改进不仅可能而且确实在进行,团队能否在这整个过程中展示领导作用?是否所有员工和利益相关者都对环境目标有所认识并且知道实现环境目标的途径和方法?在之前的一篇博文 How to write ISO 14001 targets for your organization 内,有一部分讨论了如何让员工参与设定指标,但是,最高管理者团队能否真正在这一水平上展示领导作用及员工参与?以管理评审记录的形式,将这些过程正式化,定有帮助。另一个方法是向团队和利益相关者公开管理评审会议记录。那么,人人都会知道,高层管理团队很清楚自己的目标,很清楚为实现目标自己负有的职责,很清楚为实现目标应向组织提供的的支持和资源,很清楚应提供环境管理体系和支持系统,通过已建立的评审和反馈渠道,实现持续改进。

    管理评审,一年到头

    现在,最高管理者团队已经设定了目标(最好多少有点员工参与),沟通渠道已经开辟,利益相关者清楚各人职责所在,也知道实现这些目标所需要的支持已经到位。许多组织的 管理评审 一年一次。要确保实现环境指标,看得见持续改进,这够不够?只要你有一个确定的媒介,以确保所有的重要方面均得到评审、付诸行动,并得到改进,答案是肯定的。这个媒介可以是每周或每月举行的环境管理体系会议,会议的讨论内容及行动决定可以作成正式记录。这样做,可以保证管理评审会议上决定的环境目标和环境指标保持不变。不过,我们都是凡人,有时要忘事。许多企业选择将其环境绩效的结果在大厅或接待处以布告牌或电子告示板的形式公布出来。这些关键绩效指标通常是在管理评审会议上制定的,那么,为什么不相应地将管理评审会议记录做成摘要,也显示出来?有时候,每个人都需要被提醒一下自己的奋斗目标,这种会议记录摘要是一个非常有效的方式, 很能够引起大家的关注。

    变化的结果

    现在,最高管理者团队已经设定了目标和职责,员工和利益相关者对此也已心知肚明。大家有一个共同的愿景,对每个人的职责及用于支持愿景的过程也很清楚。朝着目标的实现,共同努力。通常,目标的实现带来的是满意的管理团队、满足的员工、还有点头认可的 ISO 14001:2015 审核员。环境也会笑!

    使用免费  ISO 14001 Gap Analysis Tool,评估企业 ISO 14001 体系的现有差距。

    Advisera John Nolan
    作者作者
    John Nolan
    John Nolan is a Fellow of the Institute of Leaders and Managers in the United Kingdom, and Prince 2 accredited with a background in Engineering and Electronics and Data Storage and Transfer. Having studied and qualified as both a Mechanical and Electronic Engineer, he has spent the last 15 years designing and delivering Quality Systems and projects across many sectors in the UK, including both national and local government.

ISO 14001 Knowledge base

'. get_the_author_meta('first_name'). ' '.get_the_author_meta('last_name').'

The importance of management review in the ISO 14001:2015 process

Author: John Nolan

The year 2015 will see the approval of the Draft International Standard (DIS) of the ISO 14001:2015 environmental standard. You can examine the changes in this previous 14001Academy blog post: What are the 5 main highlights in the ISO 14001:2015 Draft International Standard (DIS)?, but one of the key changes speaks of leadership commitment, and also of defining the organization’s environmental policy itself, as well as assigning roles, responsibilities, and authority for the organization. In effect, the role of “top management” and its commitment to the EMS should be evident throughout the process of scoping out the objectives and targets. However, the actual management review may be one of the first and most important places that this leadership can be demonstrated and formally recorded in a manner that leaves all stakeholders assured of the team’s commitment to environmental improvement. So, how is this done and why is this deemed important enough to be part of the new ISO 14001:2015 standard?

Management Review – more important now than ever?

Section 4.6 of the ISO 14001:2004 standard sets out what is required from an organization in terms of management review, and what input and output criteria need to be satisfied to demonstrate the organization’s commitment to continual improvement. As you would expect, defining targets and objectives is also a staple of this initial management review process, and an organization’s top management team should play a key role in this, but the increased emphasis on leadership in the 2015 standard means that top management will be expected to understand and be able to talk about how the EMS is measured and improved, and how effective this has been. Therefore, an increased focus on having accurate, meaningful, and sustainable targets and objectives will arise. An increased expectation of demonstrable and measureable leadership will be expected from the ISO 14001:2015 auditor.

So, how does this change the management review?

An organization’s top management team must now take extra care in setting out its environmental targets, objectives, and authorities within the business. Can the team demonstrate leadership throughout the process, from target setting, through communication to delivery and review of performance, finally ensuring that continual improvement is possible and indeed delivered? Are all employees and stakeholders aware of the objectives and what must be done to achieve them? In part of an earlier blog we looked at how to involve employees in goal setting: How to write ISO 14001 targets for your organization, but can this level of leadership and involving employees really be demonstrated by your top management team? Formalizing these processes by recording them at your management review will help you. Sharing your management review minutes with your team and stakeholders will also help you. Everyone can then be aware that the top management team is clear on its objectives, clear on its responsibility toward achieving them, clear in providing the support and resources for the organization to achieve them, and clear in providing an EMS and support system where continual improvement can be achieved via an established review and feedback channel.

Management Review – ongoing effect through the year

So, your top management team has set out its objectives, hopefully after a degree of employee consultation. The communication channel has been established; your stakeholders understand where the responsibilities lie, and know that the support is in place to work toward achieving these goals. Many organizations have one management review per year. Is this sufficient to ensure targets are achieved and continual improvement is seen? As long as you have a defined vehicle to ensure all the vital aspects are reviewed, actioned, and improved, the answer is “yes.” This may be a weekly or monthly EMS meeting, and you can formally record what you discuss and decide to action there. This will keep you true to the targets and objectives you set up at that management review meeting. But, we are all human and sometimes forget things. Many companies choose to show their environmental performance results in their foyer or reception areas, whether on noticeboards or electronically. These KPIs are usually formulated at your management review meeting – why not summarize the management review minutes accordingly, and display them too? Sometimes everyone needs reminding of what they are actually trying to achieve, and having a summary of these minutes is a very effective way of doing so – and maintaining everyone’s focus on them.

So, what does this change achieve?

Your top management team has now set out the objectives and responsibilities, and the employees and stakeholders have an accurate picture of this, too. You have a shared vision and clear definition of who is responsible for what, and what processes are used to support this. Together, you can work toward achieving your goals. Achievement usually means a happy management team, fulfilled employees, and when you have to face your ISO 14001:2015 audit, a happy auditor. And the environment will be happy, too!

Use this free  ISO 14001 Gap Analysis Tool to assess what gaps exist in your ISO 14001 system.

If you enjoyed this article, subscribe for updates

Improve your knowledge with our free resources on ISO 14001 standard.

You may unsubscribe at any time.

For more information on what personal data we collect, why we need it, what we do with it, how long we keep it, and what are your rights, see this Privacy Notice.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

FREE ISO 14001 CONSULTATION
Iciar Gallo
ISO 14001 Expert, Advisera

GET FREE ADVICE

Upcoming free webinar
ISO 14001: Identification and evaluation of environmental aspects
Tuesday – October 22, 2019

OUR CLIENTS

OUR PARTNERS

  • Advisera is Exemplar Global Certified TPECS Provider for the IS, QM, EM, TL and AU Competency Units.
  • ITIL® is a registered trade mark of AXELOS Limited. Used under licence of AXELOS Limited. All rights reserved.
  • DNV GL Business Assurance is one of the leading providers of accredited management systems certification.